Datastore licensing for Local Copy Admins
A valid license is required for each Local Copy datastore.
When you’re creating a datastore you’ll need a valid license file that’s specific to the project and the licensed Aconex user, and a matching license key that unlocks this license file.
You can obtain a license file and key from the Aconex Service Desk.
A datastore license has an expiry date — typically the date that your Aconex service agreement ends. You’ll still be able to access all the information in a datastore when the license expires, but the datastore won’t be updated past the expiry date.
Notification about the impending license expiry is sent to the Local Copy Administrator:
- four weeks before the expiry date.
- one week before the expiry date.
- one day before the expiry date.
If a project is extended, you can renew the license for the datastore.
You can also change the licensed user for a datastore to an active user on the same project who belongs to the same organization as the currently licensed user. However, you’ll need to obtain a new license file and license key for the new user.
Creating multiple datastores on the one server
You can create any number of datastores on a single server.
Note that if an active datastore is not accessed by a user within the session timeout period set by the Local Copy Administrator, that datastore is closed.
The default timeout is ten minutes.
Giving multiple users access to a datastore
Any number of users can access Local Copy Viewer to work with an open datastore at the same time.
Update errors and their impacts
When you’re updating a datastore, various issues can prevent the update from completing successfully:
- Errors: for example, a document or mail can’t be downloaded.
- Warnings: for example, a confidential document attached to a downloaded project mail is not accessible to the datastore’s licensed user and can’t be downloaded.
- General errors: for example, when a connection could not be made to Aconex.
If a general error occurs, or if the number of errors and warnings exceeds the Error Tolerance value set for the datastore, the update is abandoned, and the datastore is rolled back to the last successful update.
The datastore status is set to “Available With Rollback.”
Users are able to access the datastore, but the project information won’t be up to date.
Any items successfully downloaded during the failed update are stored locally and are available for the next update. These items won’t be downloaded again during the next update unless they’ve been updated in the meantime.