You are here

Aconex Organization Preferences Guide

Set and manage organizational preferences in Aconex.

Besides the Aconex defaults, preference settings can be set at three levels:

  1. by the organization
  2. by the project owner
  3. by the user.

Each level inherits the preferences set at the levels above.

As the Organization Administrator you can make changes to the Preferences settings for your organization. These changes will apply to all users in your organization.

To change most preferences, you need to start by unchecking the box in the Use Default Setting column of the Preferences page. Then, you can make changes in the Setting column. 

The organization preferences settings are explained below.

The Organization Preferences page

Access protocol

Turn off Akamai web acceleration can help speed up your connection to Aconex if you’re having trouble with network performance.

Enable and specify hostname of Local Cache lets you create a local cache for Aconex at a location of your choice.

Security

Set default password strength for new users lets you choose from a pre-set selection of password strength and length options.

Set default password access rule for new users lets you choose from a pre-set selection of password expiry options.

Select print shops lets you choose the print centres that users will be offered in Aconex.

Select default print shops lets you set the print centres that users will be offered by default in Aconex.

Documents

Select document types lets you choose the document types that will be available across your organization for all projects and users. Note that Project owners can assign your organization document types. We recommend that you do not override this preference.

Select document statuses lets you choose the document statuses that will be available across your organization for all projects and users. Note that Project owners can assign your organization document statuses, and override this organizational preference.

Update document register with transmittal attachments automatically (except workflows) ensures that your organization’s document register is automatically updated with documents transmitted outside of workflows. Aconex recommends that automatic registration is always turned on, unless a procedure is put into place for the audit of all incoming documents (except workflows) by a document control team.

Update document register automatically upon receipt of workflow transmittals ensures that your organization’s document register will be automatically updated with workflows sent via transmittals. Aconex recommends that automatic registration only be turned off when a procedure is put into place for audit of all incoming documents by a document control team.

Select default language for zip file encoding lets you determine the language that Aconex will use to create zipped files.

Select language for zip file encoding on each upload lets users determine the language that will be used each time they upload a zipped file to Aconex.

On upload, mark all documents as confidential ensures that all documents users in your organization upload to the register are marked as confidential by default.

Create a default list of users for new confidential documents lets you create a list of users who will have automatic access to new documents marked as Confidential. Only those users who you have selected to access confidential documents will be able to see them.

Time zone

Set default time zone lets you set the time zone for your organization’s registered location.

Mail

Select mail types lets you include, exclude and make available mail types to users in your organization. You can also specify auto text for each mail type from this page. Note that Mail types can be assigned to your organization by each project owner and these types can override your organizational preferences.

Compose mail using rich text editor (HTML) turns on the rich text editor by default for users writing mail. To set plain text mail as the default, uncheck this setting.

Email address where mail can be sent as a backup lets you specify an email address to which you’ll have all Aconex mail sent as a backup. If you don’t enter an address here, your mail won’t be backed up to an external address.

Include confidential mail in email backup lets you ensure that confidential mail is also sent to the backup address you specified. If you don’t select this setting , confidential mail will not be backed up.

Configure mail signatures lets you create and edit plain text and HTML signatures for your organization’s mail in Aconex. Note that users ultimately choose whether to use your organization’s signature, a project-specific signature, if one is created by the project admin, or a signature they’ve created themselves.

Configure mail auto text lets you create and edit text that users in your organization can select to insert into the mail they compose.

Expand full recipient list in mail by default shows users the full list of recipients in each mail they receive. Leave the box unchecked, and users will see only one name unless they expand the list manually.

Notification

Select type of email notifications lets you choose the way users in your organization will receive email notifications about Aconex Mail.

Receive email notifications for overdue workflow steps ensures users receive overdue workflow step notifications via email.

Receive email notifications for overdue workflows ensures users receive overdue workflow notifications via email.

Overdue notification delay for workflow steps lets you set the number of days after the due date of a workflow step limit that overdue notifications will be sent.

Overdue notification delay for workflows Select the number of days after the due date of workflow limit that overdue notification should be sent.

Send email notification to new users ensures that new users in your organization receive a welcome email including login details and a link to set their password.

Language

Select default language lets you choose the language in which the Aconex app and all notifications are displayed by default for users in your organization.

Session

Select session time duration lets you choose how long users’ web browsers can be idle before they’re automatically logged out of Aconex.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.