You are here

Give users in your organization permission to create workflow templates

Org Admins can give users permission to create and edit workflow templates.
  1. Click Setup.
  2. Click Configure User Role Settings.
Configure user role settings
  1. To give permissions for users in your organization to create workflows for:
Project or Organization tab

Need more information about this step? Find out more on managing user roles for your organization, where we explain the difference between organization-level user roles and project-level user roles.

Change the settings for an organization-level user role

  1. Depending on how you manage user roles for your organization, you can either:
  2. For Create/edit a workflow template, select Grant.
Create or edit a workflow template

In this image we're changing the Workflows User role. Anyone in our organization who has been assigned this user role will now have permission to start a workflow.

  1. Click the Save button in the top right of the page to save your changes.
Save button

Now anyone with the user role you've just modified will have permissions to create workflow templates. They'll be able to create workflow templates on any project they're participating on.

You don't need to read through the rest of the instructions on this page.

Change the settings for a project-level user role

  1. Select the project you'll be modifying.
configure project level user role
  1. Create a project-specific user role for your organization to allow users to create workflow templates.
  2. Select Grant from the Create/edit a workflow template dropdown.
create template permissions

We've called our new user role Workflows Template.

  1. Click the Save button at the top right-hand corner of the page to save this new setting.
Save button
  1. Now click the Assign user roles button.
Assign user roles button
  1. Check the Workflow Template role checkbox for each person who needs permission to create workflow templates.
  2. Click the Save button to save these changes.
assign user roles

Now the people you've just selected will have permissions to create workflow templates. They'll only be able to create workflow templates for the project you selected.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.