You are here

What is read-only and archive access?

As the project-owning organization, you can prevent an organization from editing or creating project data by restricting it to read-only or archive access.

There are two levels of restricted access:

Changing an organization’s access level does not prevent users from seeing their own data or anything which has already been sent to them. It does restrict the types of actions users will be able to perform, from that point onwards.

Read-only access

When should Read-only access be used?

Use Read-only access for projects that only store project reference materials, such as OH&S (Occupational Health & Safety) documentation.

What do organizations with Read-only access have access to?

They can receive and read project mail and updated documents.

What restrictions apply to organizations with Read-only access?

ModuleOrganizations with Read-only access cannot
DocumentsUpload, supersede, transmit, auto-update, mark as No Longer in Use, restore as current, perform bulk processing
MailCreate new mail, register mail, reply / reply all, forward, approve, reject
WorkflowsCreate templates, initiate a workflow, be a workflow administrator, review a workflow step
Supplier DocumentsSupplier Document administration

How does an organization know it has restricted access to the project?

Users in organizations with Read-only access will see Read-only next to the project name.

You have read-only access

Archive access

When should Archive access be used?

Use Archive access for organizations that no longer have active involvement with your project.

What restrictions apply to organizations with Archive access?

They cannot receive mail or updated documents.

The restrictions that apply to organizations with Read-only access also apply to Archive access users.

Users in an organization with Archive access are also not visible in the project directory, and cannot be re-invited to the project (unless the project-owner reinstates a normal access level for them).

How does an organization know it has restricted access to the project?

Users in organizations with Archive access will see Archive next to the project name.

You have Archive access

How do I change access levels for organizations on my project?

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.