You are here

Adding and editing areas in your Field project

A step-by-step guide to adding, editing and deleting areas on your project in Aconex Field.

The areas were preloaded when your project was initially set up in Field.

Opening the Areas section

  1. Log into Aconex.
  2. Select Field/Project/Settings.
The Field Project Settings.
  1. Select Areas under General Settings. This will display the areas that are currently available in your project.
The Settings options showing the Areas options.
  1. Find the area that you want to add sub-areas to. Click on the arrow icon to expand or contract the areas of your project. This example shows that after clicking on Area 01 (Res), we can see the Basement and its sub-areas.
Finding and area to expand.

Adding an area to your project

To add areas to your project, first ensure the project hierarchy has been created in Aconex Field. Then:

  1. Select the relevant area.
  2. Click on Add Areas.
  3. Under Add Areas, type the name of the new sub-area.
The Add Areas window.
  1. Press Enter or click the Add button.
Adding a new area.

An alternative way to add new areas to your project is to paste in a prepared list of the new areas.

  1. Continue to add other areas to the selected location. To remove an area from the list, click on the cross icon next to it.
  2. Once you're finished adding and deleting areas, click the Save button.  
  3. Made an error you don't want to save? Click the Cancel button, and start again.

Editing areas in your project

  1. Click on the name of the area you want to edit.
Selecting the area to edit.
  1. Make your changes to the area.
  2. Select OK or press Enter to save your changes, or click Cancel to abandon the changes if you've made an error.

Deleting areas from your project

An area can only be removed from a project if there are no issues raised against it or its sub-areas. 

  1. Find the area that you want to delete. 
  2. Select the relevant area and click the Delete button.
Selecting an area to delete.

If you delete an area, you'll automatically delete its sub-areas, too.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.