You are here

Editing Collaborators in Bulk

You can use this to quickly add new users to as many packages as you like, edit the existing collaborators, and edit the Distribution List.
  1. Open the Package Register.
  2. Click on Tools. You can then select either Edit Administrators/Editors or Edit the Distribution List.
Selecting Tools, then Edit distribution list.

Editing administrators and editors

To edit the administrators/editors select Edit Administrators/Editors

  1. Add users as administrator or editor.
  2. Edit the access level of the collaborators.
  3. Remove collaborators from the package if required.
The Edit Administrators/Editors window.

Editing the Distribution List

To edit the list click on Edit the Distribution List.

  1. Add users to the list.
  2. Remove users from the list as required.
The Editing the Distribution List window.

Access levels, status and permissions

When adding users as collaborators, they will automatically be added to the distribution list as well, which is the same behavior as within the package. 

Access levels

There are three types of access levels: Administrator, Editor and Mixed

The access level Mixed means, that you might not be a collaborator on all of the selected packages, or that your access level is different. For example, on one of the packages you might be an administrator, on others you might only be an editor. If you have enough permission to change the access level, you could change it from Mixed to Editor for example. This would add you to all of those packages where you are not an editor yet. However, this would downgrade your access level on all of those packages where you are an Administrator. 

Status

There are two statuses for the distribution: On the list and Mixed

On the list means that you are on the distribution list of all of the selected packages. Mixed means that on some of the packages selected you are on the distribution list, but on others you are not. If you change from Mixed to On the list you will be added to the missing ones. 

Permissions

For permission to edit the access level, the same rules you’d have to edit collaborators within a package would apply. This means that if you are an Editor on one of the packages selected, you won’t be able to add Administrators or to upgrade an existing Editor to Administrator. If you don't have permission to edit the collaborators on all of the selected packages, you’ll see a message telling you.

The permissions warning message.

Administrators AND editors can add/remove editors, but only administrators can add or remove administrators, or upgrade editors to administrators. 

If you don't have permission to edit the collaborators on some of the selected packages, they will automatically be excluded from your selection. 

The message warning you don't have permission to edit the collaborator list.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.