You are here

Marking Packages as no longer in use

Do you have a package that's become obsolete, perhaps because the project's scope has changed? If so, read this article to learn how to hide them in the Package Register.

As well as packages becoming redundant when a project's scope changes, you might also create a package then find there's a problem with it and it shouldn't be used. Or you might have to recreate a package but hide the original so it isn't accidentally used by others in your organization. 

To get around these problems, you can use Mark as No longer in use, which hides them in the Package Register and stops them being used by anyone else. When you do this, they are hidden in the register, and all actions within the package are disabled. This means collaborators can no longer edit the package, nor can they distribute or review it. 

Marking packages as no longer in use

  1. Open the package you want to mark as no longer in use. 
  2. Under More select Mark as no longer in use
The Mark package as no longer in use button.
  1. The package will be marked as no longer in use and has information by whom and at what time it was marked.
  2. If you need to reopen the package, you can do so by clicking on the Reopen Package button at the top of the screen.
The re-open package button.

If you mark a package as no longer in use, its state changes to No Longer In Use. And, by default, when you open the Package Register this type of package is not visible.

If you want to see packages marked as no longer in use, click Show No Longer In Use Packages under the settings icon in the top right of the Package Register.

The menu icon and Show no longer in use option.

You can hide the packages again by clicking Hide No Longer In Use Packages.

The Hide no longer in use menu option.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.