You are here

Consolidating markups from parallel reviews

Consolidating markups from parallel reviews allows you to amalgamate all the markups in one document that have been added by different reviewers. To get the best results all reviewers should use the Online Viewer to do this.

Consolidating markups from parallel reviews

The markups made by parallel reviewers are delivered in the form of a zip file to the reviewer of the next step (the step after the parallel review block). This user will see a button called Consolidate Markups. The consolidation option works best when all parallel reviewers use the online viewer to add their markups.

However, the consolidate option works equally well if any of the reviewers have downloaded the file, marked it up in another tool and uploaded the same file. If a reviewer downloads, scans and uploads the file, the chances of consolidation are still high, but will depend on the quality of the scanned image, which we cannot predict. 

Consolidation is not allowed if any of the reviewers replaces the original file with another one. This prevents markups from different files being copied over and creating confusion.

Once you click the Consolidate Markups button, the markups from all the files are consolidated into one copy of the file. 

Note that the consolidate option is available on the step immediately after any parallel review. If that happens to be a Lead Reviewer step, the reviewer can edit or delete all markups in the consolidated file. If consolidation occurs in a non-Lead Review step, then the reviewer cannot alter the markups.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.