You are here

View and edit Microsoft Office documents in Aconex

Open and edit Word, Excel and Powerpoint files from the Document Register in Aconex, without having to download them.

Supported files types

These commonly used Office file formats are supported:

Supported Microsoft Office file types
(Note, whilst doc, xls and ppt files can be read, they will be saved as docx, xlsx and pptx files)

Viewing a file

  1. From the Document Register, click on the row containing the file you want to open and select “Open in Office Online”
Document register, open in Microsoft Office
  1. The first time you open a document you’ll be asked for permission to view in Office Online. You’ll also need to agree to Microsoft’s terms of use and privacy statement.
  1. Next, you’ll see a view of your document within Aconex
  1. To start editing select the “Edit in Browser” button

Editing a file

  1. Once you select Edit in Browser, enter your Office 365 login details. 

Now you’re in the Office online view and can edit your document

Other users with access to the document can edit the file at the same time. 

  1. Once you’re finished editing, return to Aconex.
  2. The updated file is available for you to supersede, once you do this it then becomes the latest revision of the document.
  3. Please note you need to have an Office 365 subscription to edit documents.
  4. Once you’ve finished editing, you can supersede the document with your edits or save changes to a draft and continue editing over multiple sessions. 
  5. Multiple users can edit Microsoft Office files at the same time (co-authoring) and all their changes will be reflected in the draft that is created. 

Things to keep in mind

  • The integration is available at no extra cost.
  • It is available for Office files in the Document Register. It is not available for reviews in the Workflows module. 
  • The 'Use Office Online' secure asset is controlled at an Org level. 
  • Drafts for Office documents are shared across users within the organization. Edits made by multiple users(co-authoring) will be visible in the draft. 
  • The draft file will have the same access permissions as the original document it was created from.
  • Once a draft file is used to successfully supersede a document, the draft will be deleted.
  • Edit is allowed only on the latest version of a document. If a draft already exists, edit is allowed only on the draft.
  • Supersede using a draft is allowed only when there is no active edit session in progress.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.