You are here

Control whether to keep the Automatic revision detection feature enabled or whether to disable it

Find out how you can select whether to keep the Automatic revision detection feature on, so that revisions are automatically detected in document file names and are then moved to the Revision field in the Drawings & docs table, of your tender.
  1. When logged into BidContender, click on your name in the top, right corner of the screen and from the drop down options available, click on Settings
  1. To change your organization’s default settings, you must first have Organization Administration rights allocated to you. To check that you have Org admin rights, click into the Users tab and look for your name on the allocated users’ list. If there is a tick in the Org admin column against your name, you can complete the task. If not, contact your colleagues that do 
  1. Move back to the Settings tab and click on the Edit settings button
  1. Scroll to the bottom of the screen to the Automatic revision detection heading.  By default, the feature will be enabled as indicated by the tick in the check box below this heading – this means revisions will be automatically detected in document file names, so that they will be moved to the Revision field in the Drawings & docs table of the tender
  1. To disable this feature click your mouse in the check box to remove the tick – this means revisions will not be automatically detected in file names, unless the file names are exactly the same. The document name will remain, leaving the Revision field blank. When uploading a file name that differs, the document will be uploaded as an additional document and will not supersede similar, existing filenames
  1. Click the Save settings button

What happens when the Automatic revision detection feature is on.

When you upload files into a project discipline, the file names are checked against any documents already in that discipline to see if they look as if they are a newer revision. If so, an overlay is shown reading, "It looks like some of these files supersede existing documents". You can then see a list of the matching documents and choose the ones that you want to upload as a revision to an existing document. The Automatic revision detection feature then automatically detects the revisions in document filenames and moves them to the Revision field in the document table. For example, filename AB152(A) will update the existing document to AB152 and the Revision will be set to A.

What happens when it's deactivated?

Switch this feature off, if you prefer. When this feature is deactivated, only filenames that are exactly the same will be detected as a revision. This means the existing document with the exact same filename as that being uploaded will be auto-superseded. For example, filename AB152(A) will only supersede an existing document with the same filename of AB152(A). With the Automatic revision detection feature off, the document name remains AB152(A) leaving the Revision field blank. When uploading a file name that differs, such as AB152(B), the document will be uploaded as an additional document and will not supersede similar, existing filenames.

Once deactivated, the feature is no longer active for your entire organization and all its users.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks. A ticket has been opened with the Support Central team.