Delete a project

Request deletion of a project your organization owns.

Permissions requises
Delete Project

If you have the required permission and the authority to act on behalf of your organization, you can request the deletion of a project owned by your organization.

Deleting a project permanently removes all project data. Deleted projects cannot be recovered, and an archive cannot be requested after deletion. Before submitting a deletion request, make sure you have reviewed the project and backed up any data your organization needs. Aconex does not check whether a project contains data before it is deleted.

After you submit the request, the project enters a 30-day pending deletion period. You can cancel the request at any time during this period. Once the 30 days have passed, physical deletion begins and can no longer be cancelled. Deletion requests and cancellations are recorded in the audit trail.

Which projects can be deleted?

You can request deletion for:

  • Single-org projects owned by your organization, where no other organizations are participating. 
  • Multi-org projects owned by your organization, where at least one other organization is participating. 

Oracle organizations are not counted as a participating organizations.

If a project doesn't appear in the deletion list, it may be because your organization doesn't own it, you don't have the required permission, you aren't a participant, or the current filters exclude it.

Request deletion

  1. From the main navigation menu, click Setup and select List My Projects.
  2. Click Advanced Tools and select Manage Project Deletion.
  1. You'll see the list of projects eligible for deletion. 
  2. Select the project(s) you want to delete.
  • You can select multiple projects if your organization is the only participating organization. 
  • Multi-org project deletions must be requested one at a time. You'll see the project details appear on the right.
  1. Click Request Deletion
  1. Read the deletion terms and click Confirm deletion request.
  2. The selected project(s) enter the 30-day pending deletion period.
  • All project participants (including archived organizations) are notified. For multi-org projects, a Project Deletion Notice mail is sent in Aconex. For single-org projects an email notification is sent.
  • A warning banner is shown on the project while deletion is pending.
  • No one can be invited to the project and access levels for all organizations cannot be changed.

View pending deletion requests

  1. From the Manage Project Deletion screen, click the Pending deletion tab.
  2. You'll see each project that is pending deletion and the number of days remaining before deletion starts.

Cancel a request as the project owner

You can cancel a deletion request any time during the 30-day pending deletion period.

  1. From the Manage Project Deletion screen, click the Pending deletion tab.
  2. Select the project(s) you want to keep and click Cancel Deletion.
  3. Click OK.

Cancel a request as a participant

Any participant on a multi-org project can cancel a deletion request during the 30-day pending deletion period.

To cancel the request, click the Cancel deletion request link in the banner. The deletion request is cancelled and a mail is sent to the project owner to advise who cancelled the process.

What happens after 30 days?

If no one cancels the deletion request within 30 days:

  • The project is automatically closed.
  • Physical deletion begins.
  • The deletion process can no longer be cancelled or stopped.
  • The project and its data cannot be recovered.

Prochaine étape